Silver Linings Playbook (2012)

 

JENNIFER LAWRENCE and BRADLEY COOPER star in SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK

Silver Linings Playbook (Blu-ray)

Whats this? Bob De Niro in decent movie shocker? Shouldn’t that have been on the front pages back in 2012? Goodness. I’m too old for shocks like this.

Seriously though, this is a pretty damn fine film- I suppose it’s a romantic comedy, a feel-good movie, which is a little weird considering its subject matter concerns mental illness. Only in Hollywood, eh? Its funny and warm and yes, very well-acted. Jennifer Lawrence is pretty amazing (didn’t she win an Oscar for this?)  and re-watching this only reinforces how bored she looks in that last Hunger Games film. She’s so much better here. Likewise Bradley Cooper is very good, although I do think he looks (shades of my Childhood’s End casting observations here) a little too good-looking and perfect to really be right-on-the-nose for the role. What the hell though, it’s a Hollywood movie- it’s all make-believe isn’t it, and life-affirming. And yeah, Bob De Niro is great in this and I don’t get to write that very often.

Anyway, this seems to be one of those pleasant movies that can be repeatedly returned to. My wife really likes it so I guess it will be. More than Blade Runner ever will be in my house, unfortunately, but there you go, there’s no accounting for taste in love and marriage.

 

2 thoughts on “Silver Linings Playbook (2012)

  1. I’ve had this sat on my V+ box for yonks, but for some reason never feel tempted by it. Especially after American Hustle disappointed me, I was less keen; but I watched The Fighter the other night and thought it was very good, so maybe now it’ll be in my good books, or something.

Leave a Reply

