1976, the year it all started…

1976. Simpler times, especially if you were a kid. Batman was being re-run on the telly. I was reading Marvel Comics like crazy. Starsky and Hutch on Saturday nights on BBC. There was a drought that long hot summer. And there was that damned scary shark…

When all is said and done, I write film reviews on this blog, and you read them, because we love movies. I was wondering the other day about just when it all started for me. For most of us it’s an easy thing to state when we fell in love with movies, we know the moment well. Its usually a key moment when we ‘click’ with a certain movie, when it makes an impact on us on an emotional level. ‘Emotional’ because that’s the real kicker with any movie, at least for me- you can rationalise, on an intellectual level, the quality of a film, but where any film makes its real impact is surely on an emotional level; how it moves you, that’s where any movie really leaves its mark on you. Its why an undisputed classic like Citizen Kane may not be your favourite film- Kane is a great film easily admired but it may not have touched you in quite the same way as an intellectually inferior movie like a Ghostbusters or ET or Great Escape or Ben Hur did. Favourite movies are not always great movies, but they are often the reasons why we love movies.

JAWS1For me, it started with Jaws. Those of you who moan about waiting three months for a home release and are accustomed to simultaneous (or near as damn it) world theatrical releases might be alarmed at the Cinematic Dark Ages of the previous millennium when cinemagoers had to wait months just for films to cross the pond from America into our cinemas. American summer releases were often winter releases over here. So it was with Jaws, not arriving until 1976 here in the UK (It think it was actually Boxing Day 1975 for London, but it would take some months for it to eventually move out into the rest of the country… things were so slow back then!). So 1976 was when all this movie nonsense started for me. I was ten years old.

Of course, I’d seen many films as a kid but this was something else. My Aunt Lydia (now no longer with us, sadly) and her boyfriend (later husband/uncle) took me along on a Saturday afternoon to see the film. By this time the film was a massive phenomenon, merchandise was everywhere (I recall I was reading the paperback around the time when I saw the film) and it already clearly had a huge cultural impact- the delayed release over here actually only prolonged and intensified this. That delay -and films running at cinemas for a much longer period back then- has made me think. Nowadays films come and go in hardly any time at all, so we don’t seem to get such a scale of media saturation now. FIlms seemed to stick around longer back then, funnily enough, and home video releases now seem to have made films more disposable. I was in a supermarket the other day and quite recent films were already in a bargain bin of DVDs, which quite alarmed me. Jaws was a huge cultural event, and even some years later when it had its first tv premiere, I remember it still being a huge media event, featuring on the cover of the TV TImes. Films seemed a Bigger Deal back in the day. In my life, I think the only other film with a similar cultural impact as Jaws would be Star Wars a few years later (well, 1977 in America, 1978 over here).

I’ll never forget that Saturday afternoon. Indeed, to this day I cannot watch Jaws divorced from those memories, those feelings that screening engendered in me- everytime I’m pulled back to that cinema experience. Its funny how sophisticated audiences are now, everyone seems to laugh at the rubber shark, but it was never like that for me or indeed most audiences at the time. For us that shark was real. Of course, the film scared me shitless. But it wasn’t gore or anything graphic, it was more the anticipation, the fear of the unseen, the threat in those watery dark depths. I think the sophistication of audiences now… well I think they’ve lost something. Everything is so literal now. Thanks to cgi there’s no need to tease or hint, everything can be visualised up on the screen and from a storytelling standpoint and audience experience I think something has been lost. Sure it’s great to see such huge impossible things on screen these days but does it really now have to be so… complete?

The genius of Jaws is in its editing, and what is unseen. Most of this wasn’t at all intended, it was rather a triumph against adversity. The shark didn’t work, and many of the shots Spielberg wanted couldn’t be done, even with the shoot extending from some 55 days to 159 days. The shoot was a nightmare and Spielberg worried his career was already over. But all the disasters and technical problems that resulted in the production being forced into working around a non-functioning fake shark proved to be the making of the film. John Williams turned in an incredible score that provided all the tension that the fake shark couldn’t- you didn’t need to see the shark; you could hear its threat just in the music; it’s Pure Cinema, something much more effective than a contemporary authentic-looking cgi shark might ever be. Indeed Jaws is one of Spielberg’s best films simply because it has to be held back by its technical limitations; Jaws is Speilberg in Hitchcockian mode and he’s all the better for it. He can’t fall back on Douglas Trumbull or ILM excess to carry the picture. Consider the difference between Jaws and the excess of 1941. Needless to say, Jaws is my favourite Spielberg film- maybe not his best film, I appreciate that his later films have their merits- but certainly my favourite. When the film got released in cinemas a few years ago (2012 was it?) I naturally made sure to see it on the big screen again.

kk1It was such an intense experience back on that Saturday afternoon in 1976. Is it any wonder that it triggered an interest in that magical artform that has continued to this day? It was surely no accident that later that year I bought a paperback copy of Logan’s Run with the films gorgeous artwork catching my eye, or a paperback book about the making of that year’s remake of King Kong. The latter would prove to make a particular impression on me, as it would open my eyes to all the behind-the-scenes stuff that happened in order to get those films made. The following year I’d start buying magazines like Starburst which regularly featured making-of articles and interviews with directors and actors. But 1976 is when it all started. And of course, a little film titled Star Wars was just around the corner…

4 thoughts on “1976, the year it all started…

  1. I’ve been thinking about similar things to this recently, thanks to Jurassic WorldJurassic Park was the first film I ever saw at the cinema. Not where my love of movies began, I don’t think, but certainly a memorable experience. Indeed, I’m not sure I could pinpoint exactly when I became interested in film. In a grown-up academic-y sense, maybe, but in terms of an emotional connection… it’s like it’s always been there. Indeed, one of my earliest memories is being scared witless by the painting coming to life in Ghostbusters II; logically, therefore, I saw the first Ghostbusters before I can even remember. You don’t get much more ingrained than that.

  2. Random Jaws notes…

    I’d forgotten that big delay between Jaws coming out in the US and the UK! Makes total sense now, as it meant the flood of merchandise that I remember must have preceded the film itself, whipping me into a frenzy…

    At age 5, I had a Jaws T-shirt, Jaws underpants [don’t ask], a Jaws pendant [still have that], and a Jaws ship-in-a-bottle kit, a couple of poster magazines. And that’s just the official merchandise: there were also numerous packets of real sharks teeth [we lived near to the Kent coast, so there were a lot of little harmless sharks got fished out to become merch, unfortunately], as well as a real set of jaws [which I still have], a couple of random books and mags on sharks, a rubber shark toy for the bath from Woolworths – very lifelike – and a Six Million Dollar Man jigsaw of Steve Rogers punching a shark.

    And of course, I started getting Action comic [the infamous precursor to 2000AD] because it featured the shark Hook-Jaw. And I would gaze the paperback copy of the novel that my grandparents had – not the final poster design, but a more painterly version in chilly shades of blue, set at night – though I was far too young to make sense of it.

    I pestered my parents to take me to see it. They went to see it for themselves, then apparently went again to judge whether I was too young for it. Then one afternoon whilst we were visiting my grandparents in London, my mother and I were walking through Earls Court and she suddenly detoured off into a cinema and led me in to see it. She had carefully timed it so that we’d arrive late enough to miss the opening attack, and she covered my eyes when Ben Gardner popped up, but still… respect. I’ll never forget that screening.

    As a footnote, I used to have a poster of that King Kong image on my bedroom wall – it was a sort of 3D sculpted plastic, the Kong stood out from the background. I’d forgotten that!

  3. Cheers for those Jaws memories. It had such an impact on those of us young at the time. Such an iconic film… Don’t know if it’s the music or that whole 1970s vibe of the pacing or how ‘real’ and ordinary actors are in it (compared to how ‘perfect’ and ‘ideal’ actors are in modern films). It just gets better with age. Can’t imagine too many recent films will manage that. Avatar? Ho ho ho. Blockbusters aint what they used to be.

  4. Pingback: The New-Look Monthly Update for June 2015 | 100 Films in a Year

Leave a Reply

