Farewell, Mr Spock….

Just a note to remark upon the passing on Friday of Leonard Nimoy. Of course he was more than just an actor who played Mr Spock- as an actor he played many notable parts other than the famous Vulcan, and demonstrated many other talents other than acting, such as photography and film directing, in his long career. But to many of us children of the ‘sixties and ‘seventies, he will forever be identified as Mr Spock from the original tv series.

spockWhen the news broke I was at work, one of my colleagues seeing the news come up on his smartphone (a piece of tech that always feels very ‘Trek’) . Another colleague and this one an ‘original’ Trek fan (we old Trekkies distance ourselves from later generations of fans, as their own ‘favourite’ Treks tend to be the ones they grew up with, such as ST:Voyager  is amongst some of my work colleagues,) rang me up a few minutes later to inform me of the news. I’m sure there were many other similar calls that afternoon amongst fans… indeed, I dare day the internet went into overload as forums and websites and social media and news vendors broke the news. How much technology has changed and reshaped the world since that first series aired.

Whenever a major film actor or director dies, there seems to be a trend these days for fans to watch one of the deceased persons’ movies or tv shows as an act of memoriam or tribute. Its something I’ve often noted many fans mentioning on forums but have never done myself. But on Friday night when I got back home, I pulled down my Star Trek: TOS blu ray off its shelf and watched one of the episodes most notable for featuring Mr Spock in a central role- The Galileo Seven, an episode that has always been one of my favourites. Wonderful stuff.

One thought on “Farewell, Mr Spock….

Leave a Reply

